Exhibition – I return to Vienna when I compose

The exil.arte Center extends its Exhibition
“I return to Vienna when I compose”

with further estates 
Theo Buchwald
Robert Freistadtl
Wilhelm Grosz
André Singer
Jan Urban
Hans Winterberg

and with a 
Special Exhibition Gedenkjahre 1918, 1933, 1938

„Das Wort entschlief, als jene Welt erwachte“
(Karl Kraus, 1933)

Opening hours 2019

September 3rd – September 27th
Tuesday – Friday 12:00 – 16:00 hrs

October 1st – December 20th
Tuesday – Saturday 15:00 – 19:00 hrs

The exhibition stays closed on holidays.

Opening hours 2020

January 1st – June 30th
Tuesday – Saturday from 15:00 to 19:00 hrs

July 2nd – July 31st
Tuesday – Friday from 12:00 to 16:00 hrs
The exhibition is closed in August!

September 1st – September 30th
Tuesday – Friday from 12:00 to 16:00 hrs

October 1st – December 18th
Tuesday – Saturday from 15:00 to 19:00 hrs

The exhibition stays closed on holidays!


exil.arte

An entire generation of younger musicians was deprived by this cultural catastrophe of ever being admitted to the mdw.

The exil.arte Center of the mdw is situated in exactly the same building where talented musicians studied and pioneering lecturers taught. Between 1933 and 1938, many of the mdw’s most gifted individuals were forced to flee the Nazi terror. Some managed to continue their careers, while others found they had lost the very foundations of their work. An entire generation of younger musicians was deprived by this cultural catastrophe of ever being admitted to the mdw. The first exhibition opening the newly founded exil.arte Center at the mdw focuses on the lost musical legacy and the fates of these many and diverse lives.

  • The first Jew to join the Vienna’s Boys’ Choir; studied at the mdw and later in exile worked as a farmer in New Zealand before becoming one of Bruckner’s greatest interpreters, working solely with provincial orchestras which until his recordings were released were largely unknown. –  Georg Tintner
  • A student at the mdw, subsequently deported by the Nazis yet managed to escape from both Dachau and Buchenwald. In exile he later founded both the Manila Symphony Orchestra and the Brooklyn Symphony Orchestra. He remained an active pedagogue in the Far East while at the same time working as Projects’ Director at UCLA. –  Herbert Zipper
  • Studied at the mdw, performed with her father, leader of one of the most renowned quartets and concert masters of the Vienna Philharmonic. Exiled to England following the dismissal of her father, she returned to the continent as their only means of support before her arrest and subsequent death at Auschwitz, where nevertheless, she survived long enough to conduct and manage the all-women orchestra. – Alma Rosé
  • Excluded from his high school as a Jew and unable even to apply for a place at the mdw he fled to the United States, where he became a music critic for the Los Angeles Times; founded and directed the music department at Loyola Marymount University while composing in private. His compositions have only recently come to light with the release of 6 CDs. He continues to live and work in Los Angeles as a youthful 97 year old. – Walter Arlen
  • Also excluded from high school and unable to audition for the mdw; exile to the United States meant leaving Nazi Vienna and his first love who fled to Switzerland. Following a successful career as an accountant, he returned to composition only after being reunited with his lost girlfriend some forty years later. – Robert Fürstenthal
  • A child prodigy, and a world renowned composer, he taught at the mdw for a short time. In American exile, he reluctantly saw his only means of survival as that of Hollywood composer, where his work resulted in such a fundamental paradigm shift that following his departure from the studios, his main output would be dismissed as “movie music”. His natural musical idiom perfectly matched the needs of American high-emotion cinema. This meant that movie music actually sounded like him, not the other way around. – Erich Wolfgang Korngold

Only some of the over 50 different stories are told at the exhibition “I return to Vienna when I compose”

Ausstellung – Wenn ich komponiere, bin ich wieder in Wien

Des exil.arte Zentrum erweitert seine Ausstellung

„Wenn ich komponiere, bin ich wieder in Wien”
mit weiteren Nachlässen von Theo Buchwald, Robert Freistadtl, Wilhelm Grosz, André Singer, Jan Urban, Hans Winterberg

und mit einer  
Spezialausstellung zu den Gedenkjahren 1918, 1933, 1938

„Das Wort entschlief, als jene Welt erwachte“
(Karl Kraus, 1933)

Eintritt frei!

exil.arte

Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst Wien
Lothringerstraße 18 / A0116 1030 Wien

Öffnungszeiten 2019

03. 09. – 27.09.
Dienstag – Freitag 12:00 – 16:00 Uhr

01.10. – 20.12.
Dienstag – Samstag
15:00 – 19:00 Uhr

An Feiertagen geschlossen!

Öffnungszeiten 2020

07.01. – 30.06.
Dienstag – Samstag von 15:00 – 19:00 Uhr

02.07. – 31.07.
Dienstag – Freitag von 12:00 – 16:00 Uhr
Im August geschlossen!

01.09. – 30.09.
Dienstag – Freitag von 12:00 – 16:00 Uhr

01.10. – 18.12.
Dienstag – Samstag von 15:00 – 19:00 Uhr
An Feiertagen geschlossen!

Das exil.arte Zentrum

Andere wiederum hatten keine Chance aufgrund der historischen und menschlichen Katastrophe ein Studium an der mdw zu beginnen.

Das exil.arte Zentrum der mdw befindet sich genau an jener Stelle, wo ab 1913/14 hervorragende KünstlerInnen sowohl als Lehrende sowie Studierende tätig waren. Viele von ihnen mussten 1933 bzw. 1938 Europa verlassen und flohen vor dem Terror der Nationalsozialisten. Einige von ihnen konnten ihre Karriere fortsetzen, andere hatten die Grundlage ihres Schaffens verloren. Andere wiederum hatten keine Chance aufgrund der historischen und menschlichen Katastrophe ein Studium an der mdw zu beginnen. Den unterschiedlichen Lebensschicksalen ist diese erste Ausstellung des exil.arte Zentrum der mdw gewidmet.

Georg Tintner

Er war der erste jüdische Sängerknabe, studierte an der mdw, war Farmer in Neuseeland und wurde zu einem der besten Bruckner-Dirigenten, mit einem Provinzorchester, welches bis heute kaum bekannt ist.

Herbert Zipper

Er studierte an der mdw, konnte Dachau und Buchenwald entkommen, übernahm das Manila Symphonieorchester und das Brooklyn Symphonieorchester, unterhielt pädagogische Konzepte in Südostasien bis zu seinem Tod, war Leiter von Projekten an der UCLA.

Alma Rose

Sie studierte an der mdw, trat gemeinsam mit ihrem Vater auf, dem Primgeiger eines der besten Quartette und Konzertmeister der Philharmoniker, nach der Entlassung des Vaters flüchtete sie mit ihm nach England, aus Geldmangel musste sie auf den Kontinent zurück, wo sie verhaftet und nach Auschwitz deportiert wurde, wo sie das „Mädchenorchester“ leitete.

Walter Arlen

Er wurde als Jude vom Gymnasium ausgeschlossen, musste nach einem Jahr fliehen und konnte daher nicht an der mdw studieren, er wurde Musikkritiker der LA Times, gründete und leitete ein Musikdepartment in LA, seine Kompositionen sind erst seit 8 Jahren bekannt, 6 CD wurden bislang aufgenommen, lebt als aufstrebender Komponist mit fast 97 Jahren in LA.

Robert Fürstenthal

Er musste Wien und seine Jugendliebe verlassen, um sich vor den Nazis zu retten, konnte nie eine Ausbildung an der mdw oder andernorts absolvieren, traf seine Jugendliebe nach mehr als einem halben Jahrhundert wieder, welche ihn zum Komponieren animierte.

Erich Wolfgang Korngold

Er war ein Wunderkind, war als Opernkomponist in ganz Europa ein Begriff, lehrte an der mdw, musste die Kriegszeit als Filmkomponist unfreiwillig in Hollywood ausharren, nach dem Krieg hatte man für seine opulente Musik keine Verwendung mehr, man meinte sogar, dass seine Musik wie Filmmusik klinge, aber in Wirklichkeit war es genau umgekehrt.

Nur einige von über 50 Schicksalen, die bei der Ausstellung „Wenn ich komponiere, bin ich wieder in Wien“ angesprochen werden …