Concert Series “Echo of the Unheard” I June 18, 2024 I Arnold Schönberg and Wolfgang Fraenkel


© The Ciompi Quartet

Concert series “Echo of the Unheard” | June 18, 2024 I Arnold Schönberg and Wolfgang Fraenkel

Arnold Schönberg and Wolfgang Fraenkel are historically linked: two progressive Jewish composers who fled Europe with the rise of the Nazis. Schönberg came to the United States while the younger Fraenkel spent eight years in Shanghai, where he was an important teacher and cultural force. This concert compares these two strong personalities through two of their string quartets. Fraenkel’s quartet contains a dedication to the much admired Schönberg.

Tuesday, June 18, 2024, 7 p.m.
Palais Ehrbar – small Ehrbar Saal
Mühlgasse 28
1040 Vienna

The concert is fully booked!


Ciompi Quartet

Eric Pritchard, violin | Hsiao-mei Ku, violin | Jonathan Bagg, viola | Caroline Stinson, cello


Arnold Schönberg: String Quartet No. 4 op 37

Wolfgang Fraenkel: Music for String Quartet (1949)


Ulrike Anton (Director of the Arnold Schönberg Center Vienna) | Gerold Gruber (founder of and head of the Exilarte Center)