Erwin and Maria Ley Piscator

Expanding the exhibition

„Piscator is the greatest theater man of all time. He will leave a legacy that we should use.

Bertolt Brecht

The exil.arte Center expands its exhibition “When I Compose, I’m Back in Vienna” with a portrayal of the life and work of Erwin Piscator and Maria Ley Piscator. This extension is part of the Lahr von Leitis Archive, which was recently adopted by the exil.arte Center.

Piscators influence

The exhibition shows Piscator’s significant influence on the development of the theater on both sides of the Atlantic. Piscator firmly believed that “art only serves its purpose if it contributes to human improvement.”

Maria Ley

Erwin Piscator

Dramatic Workshop

Erwin Piscator, a pioneer of political and experimental theater, was born on 17th December, 1893 in Ulm, Germany. In 1936 Piscator emigrated to Paris and from there to the United States in 1938. Together with his wife, director and dancer Maria Ley Piscator, he founded the Dramatic Workshop at the New School for Social Research, New York, and was its director from 1939 to 1951. A whole generation of American actors – e.g. Marlon Brando, Tony Curtis, Rod Steiger, Tony Randall, Harry Belafonte – were influenced by Piscator’s teaching method, but also writers like Tennessee Williams and Arthur Miller, as well as directors like Julian Beck and Judith Malina.

In 1951 Piscator – threatened by the McCarthy Committee on the Investigation of Anti-American Activities – returned to Germany, his wife Maria Ley continued the Dramatic Workshop in NY.

Erwin und Maria Ley Piscator

Erweiterung der Ausstellung

„Piscator ist der größte Theatermann aller Zeiten. Er wird ein Erbe hinterlassen, das wir nutzen sollten.“

Bertolt Brecht

Das exil.arte Zentrum erweitert seine Ausstellung „Wenn ich komponiere, bin ich wieder in Wien“ mit einer Darstellung des Lebens und Werks von Erwin Piscator und Maria Ley Piscator. Diese Erweiterung ist ein Teil des Lahr von Leitis Archivs, welches vor kurzem vom exil.arte Zentrum übernommen werden konnte. 

Einfluss auf die Entwicklung des Theaters

Die Ausstellung zeigt Piscators bedeutenden Einfluss auf die Entwicklung des Theaters auf beiden Seiten des Atlantiks. Piscator glaubte fest daran, dass „Kunst ihren Zweck nur dann erfüllt, wenn sie zur Verbesserung des Menschen beiträgt.“ 

Maria Ley

Erwin Piscator

Dramatic Workshop

Erwin Piscator, ein Pionier des politischen und experimentellen Theaters, wurde am 17. Dezember 1893 in Ulm geboren. 1936 emigrierte Piscator nach Paris und 1938 von dort in die Vereinigten Staaten. Gemeinsam mit seiner Frau, der Regisseurin und Tänzerin Maria Ley Piscator, gründete er den Dramatic Workshop an der New School for Social Research in New York und war von 1939 bis 1951 sein Leiter. Eine ganze Generation amerikanischer Schauspieler – u.a. Marlon Brando, Tony Curtis, Rod Steiger, Tony Randall, Harry Belafonte – wurden durch Piscators Unterrichtsmethode geprägt, aber auch Schriftsteller wie Tennessee Williams und Arthur Miller, sowie Regisseure wie Julian Beck und Judith Malina. 

1951 kehrte Piscator – bedroht durch den McCarthy-Ausschuss zur Untersuchung antiamerikanischer Umtriebe – nach Deutschland zurück, seine Frau Maria Ley führte den Dramatic Workshop in NY fort.